Sew good! 

Merry Christmas!This holiday was a quiet one for me. And I couldn’t have been more happy. My mom and I made Christmas dinner and just stayed home. No visitors and we didn’t have any obligations to go anywhere. It was a nice and welcome change from the normal hustling and bustling around in an attempt to see everyone and their cousin and their kids and…you get the picture. 
I received some really cool gifts, but my most favorite is my new sewing machine! 

  

  
I’ve been wanting a sewing machine  for awhile and was so ecstatic when I opened it! I bought some fabric and immediately dove into learning all about my machine and stitches. My go-to guide for all things has been Tilly and the Buttons. Her blog has a beginner’s sewing section that has been so great at teaching me the basics. 

I’ve already completed my first project. The Brigitte scarf, one of Tilly’s beginner patterns. 

   
  
It was pretty simple and turned out super cute! 
I ordered her book, Love at First Stitch, and can’t wait to get it and create some more. 
Are you a seamstress? Have any recommended beginner patterns? Or books/ blogs that can help a beginner? Let me know!! 

8 thoughts on “Sew good! 

  1. You should try Tilly’s Bettine dress, it’s perfect for beginners as there are no zips or darts to worry about but still a fun dress to make. I’m working my way through Love at First Stitch too – on to the Delphine skirt next!

      1. I went to a class at JoAnns! They had a coupon for like 50% off! I took the 101 class! I also want to take the class for reading patterns, but haven’t signed up yet.

  2. I took home my mother in-law’s giant old machine ages ago to teach myself to sew, but the pedal was busted and I still haven’t gotten it fixed. Glad to hear you like your new machine and are finding it useful.

Leave a Reply

