Barcelona!

13062579095_97a40b4566_k

2 weeks ago I went to Barcelona for 5 days. I It was a blast and you get to hear alllllll about it πŸ™‚

*taken from my travel journal*

DAY 1

Hola! Barcelona, Spain! This is my first international trip since Toronto in 2010. I can’t believe I’ve been so stationary for so long. Well, this trip sparked my wanderlust and I’m ready to be an adventurer again!

I decided to go to Barcelona at the spur of the moment. No planning, just booked the flight. I only knew a few things of Barcelona before I arrived and I was super excited to learn more. The first day I was completely exhausted. I usually fall asleep as soon as the plane takes off, but I couldn’t fall asleep on the 7 hour flight. So, I watched movies and played Animal Crossing until I landed in Barcelona. I was so exhausted when I arrived in Barcelona. I took the train to my hostel, checked in and slept until the evening. When I woke up, I met up with 2 Couchsurfing (CS) members for drinks and tapas in the center.  It was a Tuesday night, but the city center was still bustling with activity.

 

 

Day 2

Wednesday! I woke up super early today to go to Els Encants Vells- Barcelona’s largest flea market. Encants Vells is only open Monday, Wednesday and Friday every week. I’m a big fan of vintage and antiques so I was super stoked to get to visit a Spanish market. The market was HUGE and very crowded, but it didn’t have anything that really caught my eye. I was a little disappointed in their selection There were antiques, little souvenirs, but mostly vendors just sold little things you could get from anywhere! Still, I wandered around and had a churro while I explored.

563382_13949510835692

After Els Encants Vells, I wandered over to La Sagrada Familia. The incomplete, yet beautiful church designed by Antoni Gaudi.  I opted not to go in, but walked around and enjoyed its beauty from outside. It’s truly a wonder with it’s gothic, but modern design, tall spires and beautiful facades. If I’m ever in Barcelona again, I will definitely see the inside. I took a virtual tour when I arrived back home and I kicked myself in the butt for not seeing it. It’s just as beautiful on the inside as it is from the outside.

I spent more time walking around the area exploring and met a traveler from Australia. We just started talking and hit it off and ended up spending the rest of the afternoon together.  We had coffee/churros and shared stories while we wandered around Barcelona. That evening I said farewell to my new friend and headed to Sabadell, Spain, a city about 30 minutes North of Barcelona,to have dinner with my friend Laura and her family. We had  a delicious traditional Catalan dinner and I enjoyed  spending time with her mother, grandmother, and cousin for the evening. Laura’s grandmother kept raiding the fridge and cabinets to find interesting new foods for me to try. It’s amazing I still had an appetite for dinner.

Days 3-5 are a bit picture heavy, so I’ll share them tomorrow.

11 thoughts on “Barcelona!

  1. ahh! Lucky girl! Can’t wait to read more πŸ™‚ So brave of you to travel alone… I’ve done it once and it was so empowering! xo, Brittan

    • I love travelling alone. You go where you wanna go, you see what you wanna see, and you do what you wanna do when you wanna do it! But it’s always nice to have someone with as well πŸ™‚

  2. Wow! Your trip looks amazing based on this first set of photos. I’ll be checking out your next post to live vicariously through your travels. πŸ˜€

    • You should! It’s a great way to meet people who are also travelling and they usually offer discounts for tours in the city you’re visiting.

  3. Pingback: London, 2015 | heart, soph

Leave a Reply

