Friday Five

5 things you should check out on Netflix

The-Inbetweeners-001

The Inbetweeners

This rib-tickling series follows English lad Will McKenzie and his best mates, Neil Sutherland, Jay Cartwright and Simon Cooper, as they try — and fail spectacularly — to navigate the wretched no-man’s land known as adolescence.

Oh, my goodness. If you haven’t seen this show, close this window and go watch it now. Seriously! It’s an oldie, but a goodie. It’s one of my go-to series when I need a laugh. I quote this show at least twice weekly. The characters are all unique and hilarious in their own way. Bonus-English slang! It gets me every time.

Bronydoc_logo

Bronies:The Extremely Unexpected Adult Fans of My Little Pony

Spotlighting a small but singular pop cult, this documentary looks at the adult devotees of the animated show “My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic.” For the self-described Bronies, their shared obsession rewards them with friendship and fun.

I love having a look inside any fandom, especially ones that I’m not a part of. The Bronies documentary allows you to see a little bit of the world of Bronies- their conventions, their creations, and their community.

Take-This-Waltz-01

Take This Waltz

Filmed in Toronto, this intimate, unflashy romantic drama portrays a happily married woman who experiences a sudden and strong desire for another man. Further complicating the situation, the object of her desire resides just across the street.

This movie pulled at so many emotional strings for me. At one point I hated the female lead, then felt sorry for her, and at one point I even sided with her. My emotions were ALL over the place. Great movie that’s not your typical romantic film.

3601207

Aziz Ansari’s Buried Alive

Standup comedian Aziz Ansari (“Parks and Recreation”) headlines his third standup special, where he shares his uniquely hilarious perspective on fears of adulthood, babies, marriage, and more. Ansari’s look at life on the cusp of 30 years old is smart, unfiltered, and hysterical.

Aziz Ansari is hilarious as an actor and comedian. All of his standup specials are great and this one is the best. I have watched it twice and laugh out loud so much while watching it.

safety-not-guaranteed

Safety Not Guaranteed

A team of journalists are dispatched to find out who’s behind a classified advertisement seeking a companion for time travel, with payment on return. After tracking down their oddball prey, the team has to decide how best to approach their subject.

I loved this movie and not just because it has Aubrey Plaza. It’s got a great cast, romance, adventure, comedy and is just an all around good, quirky, feel good movie!

Have you seen any of these? What did you think? if you decide to watch any of them, let me know what you think! Happy Friday!

**This Friday Five is inspired by 5 snow days. Yep, 5 days off work in addition to the 2 weeks of winter break, I just had.**

12 thoughts on “Friday Five

  1. I added Inbetweeners to my list on Netflix, thanks for that recommendation!

    I saw the Brony documentary on TV and while I am in the MLP fandom, I don’t really like to associate with a lot of the people in it. Sometimes they’re great and other times they’re a disaster. This documentary was a really nice look at the great people..and it was kinda sad!

    Safety Not Guaranteed was FANTASTIC. The ending gets me every time.

    • Inbetweeners never gets old. My favorite episode is the field trip episode in season 2. You know the one with Jay and the Cornetto? Haha. So good!

  2. I’d recommend every thing on this list! I’m glad folks outside of the UK (I am assuming you are based on snow days and Etsy!) are enjoying The Inbetweeners! I thought maybe some of the humour and references, might be missed as it is really British! It’s just so scarily accurate for what is was like at school (and still is) I guess some stuff is universal! The movie is brilliant too. And Anthony Head pops up as Will’s Dad (even though he is Carly’s Dad IRL!).

    I watched Safety Not Guaranteed the other night, and LOVED IT! I thought the ending was perfect! Lovely movie.

    Also watched Bronies a few days ago, it was an odd mix of being touching and sad.. but it did make me want to check out My Little Ponies: Friendship Is Magic!

  3. Safety Not Guaranteed Is an EXCELLENT movie. If you love Aubrey Plaza, you should see the To Do List, though NOT with your parents in the room. Eeep. It’s not on Netflix yet; I think I watched it via RedBox.

Leave a Reply

