Farewell 2013

2013 was a big year of change for me. My boyfriend and I moved from Memphis, Tennessee to Indianapolis, Indiana- a place we knew nothing about and where we knew absolutely no one! I retired from roller derby which was a huge part of my life for the last 3 years, started blogging again, lost my last grandparent, officially opened Joy’s Vintage Closet, finally decided on a career goal, and got diagnosed with a mental disorder that I’ve been dealing with for quite sometime. It’s been a year. A year of learning and a year of change.

I want 2014 to be the year of doing.I want to be more organized in every aspect of my life. I’ve already purchased a couple of notebooks for planning. They’re all pocket-sized so that I can carry them with me and have no excuses for overbooking or missing an event. I want to be conscious of what I put into my mouth, make healthy decisions, and exercise regularly. I want to see/experience something new every month! Whether it’s just a new restaurant or a new country. I want to see it! I’ve already planned my January trip. I will be visiting a friend in Florida. We are going to Wizarding World of Harry Potter. Stoked! I want to make more friends here in Indianapolis. I want to work on building an actual savings account and actually use a budget.

I think 2014 is going to be a great year and I’m looking forward to what it will bring!

8 thoughts on “Farewell 2013

  1. I love the hopefulness in this post. Sometimes it can be hard to be optimistic about the coming year when the last one has not been kind. When did you guys leave TN and why? It’s been tough financially since we left TN but I feel so much more at home in AL. We have a nice place and are building strong friendships here. If I can get a good job and we can get back on our feet financially, I might actually like calling AL home. Oh and I’ve also applied to go to school here. Took me some time but I’ve also (FINALLY) figured out what I want to do with my life! xx

    • We left TN in Feb 2013. Aaron’s job transferred him, sadly. We plan on moving back at the end of this year or beginning of 2015. Maybe that’s why I haven’t allowed myself to make Indy “home”. I know I’m eventually leaving again.

Leave a Reply

