strips

You know those new Sally Hansen Salon nail polish strips? I tried them out this weekend. They’re pretty neat and are supposed to last up to ten days. You place a strip on your nail, smooth it out, cut the excess and tada! Your nails are done! I wish it was that simple. I had a hard time centering the strip and an even harder time getting it to stick to my nail. By the 8th nail, I became a pro. So, I have 2 really good looking nails and 8 meh ones.

The problems I had with it, the design (blegh!) and being a noob at applying it, were all my fault. So, I’m going to try it again. I’m sure now that I know what I’m doing, they’ll turn out better.

Classes started yesterday. So far, so good. Minus the annoying know it all in one of my classes today. I thought I’d feel like a grandma, going back to school at 28. I thought most of my classmates would be fresh out of high school going into radiology, but nah. Most are doing a career change and are my age or older. I may start looking for a very part time job. Nannying or waiting tables seem to be my best bet since they’re flexible. I need flexibility with roller derby. So many events, practice, and eventually bouts to work around. And school.

I’m exploring my “new” neighborhood. I only lived in this area for about 10 months total in my life. And when I did live here I always ventured to midtown to do all of my shopping, entertainment, and eating. Not anymore! I realize there’s a lot more to the Bartlett/Raleigh area than I thought. Yesterday, after a walk at a park nearby, I stopped at Yolo Frozen Yogurt, (YoLo FroYo). Yolo is a local frozen yogurt and Italian gelato shop. It’s not your regular yogurt shop. You get to prepare your own yogurt! First you pick your yogurt. There’s a wall of about 10 different yogurt flavors. I got birthday cake and my sister chose tropical sorbet.

Then it’s my favorite part. Picking out toppings! They had a ton of toppings to choose from. Including fresh fruit and candy/cookies from local businesses.

so much to choose from!

I had a sweet tooth so I went for Reeses Pieces, some brownie pieces, and chopped peanuts to top it off. My sister stuck with fruity stuff. I have yet to try their gelato, but I’m sure I will. I don’t know if it’s a blessing or a curse that it’s less than a mile from my house. ^_^ If you live in Memphis or ever find yourself in Memphis, take a visit to one of the any Yolo Froyo locations.

5 thoughts on “strips

  1. i should try those strips. i hate painting my nails because they always end up smudged/chipped the very next day. and how is it every effing class has to have that one annoying kid? in undergrad, this kid haunted my english courses with his pompous, sucking up responses. i was taking the classes for fun, and he was making them mega unfun *scowl* i hope he doesn’t dominate every class as the semester progresses

  2. I HAVE to try the nail thing…though one of my pet peeves is when nails start chipping…so I’ll need LOTS of practice!! LOL

    I have another fellow blogger who has a yogurt place close to her house like that one…I might have to travel to get a taste!!!

Leave a Reply

