ole

As you know, the Dutch lost this Sunday. I’m really proud of them for making it to the final. You did good, boys! I got to watch the final game with my very own Dutchie, Arjan and a couple from roller derby.
We started off watching the game at a bar, but the atmosphere got a little tense when Arjan started yelling/screaming at the tv in Dutch. The other customers started getting a little pissy. Someone even played the jukebox to drown him out. Little did they know he can definitely out yell a jukebox 🙂 After the first half, we were invited to my friend’s house. Definitely a good call. There was more room for Arjan to scream Dutch swear words and jump/run around the house! It was a sight to see.

Arjan is gone now, but I had such a lovely time while he was here. He stopped by for a few days as part of his “around the world” trip. He’s travelling the world for a year and lucky for us-blogging/taking fabulous photos along the way. Make sure you check out his blog- The Other Flying Dutchman. I can’t wait to read about his adventures. Especially, South America.

While he was here I go to do a lot of exploring/site seeing. We visited a small town in PA to see architect Frank Lloyd Wright’s famous Falling Water. The house was beautiful. It flowed and fit perfectly with it’s surroundings. Just as it was meant to.
(photo by Arjan)

While we were in the Pittsburgh area we walked around the strip district, met up with a friend of Arjan’s and had Primanti Brothers. I’ve been wanting to go to Primanti Brothers since I saw them featured on an episode of Man vs Food. Primanti bros is a sandwich shop that sells a variety of HUGE sandwich that include some awesome cole slaw and fries on the sandwich! I got a turkey and cheese and Arjan had some kinda of sausage deal.

He finished all of his and I almost made it. Almost! Definitely about 75% of it was devoured.

The next day was an outdoorsy day. We traveled to the southeast corner of West Virginia to visit Blackwater Falls Park. On the way there we randomly came across the smallest church in the U.S., Our Lady of Pines. It was adorable.

Once in the park, we did about 5 miles of hiking, explored some waterfalls and dangled our feet off of cliffs! Well, Arjan and I did. The bf is a bit afraid of heights.

I crossed something else off the list! #92-screaming fuck you to a few people off the top of a mountain. 🙂

It felt good 🙂

8 thoughts on “ole

  1. Damn, I should definitely climb a mountain to do that, that sounds like a GREAT stress-reliever!

    And I was really bummed about the WC finals too, I really thought Netherlands could have won.

  2. @E-Thanks for the article. I loved it. hilarious 🙂
    @taylored-wife- me too! 😦 the game was very slow, but I’m glad they fought to the very end.
    @sassygirl It was definitely refreshing 🙂

Leave a Reply

